HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Cup 2020 Returns for Another Year at the Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club


The highly regarded HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Cup returned to the grounds of Al Habtoor Polo Resort and Club for the second year with some of the region’s finest polo patrons and well renowned polo superstars. Held under the Patronage of HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum, the event was attended by VIPs polo enthusiasts and witnessed two exhibition matches for the day.


The first match was between patrons playing under the team banners of Haafhd Polo and Erhaab Polo that showcased an excellent play as the scores were almost tied until the end with Haafhd Polo team taking the win due to its half goal advantage.


Match Progression: Haafhd Polo vs. Erhaab Polo

2 – 1 | 3 – 3 | 3 – 3 | 4.5 – 4


The professionals match, played at 28 - 30 goal handicap, had top ranking polo players play under the team banners of Erhaab Polo and Nashwan Polo teams and concluded the game at 9 goals to 7.


Match Progression: Salsabil vs. Nashwan

1 – 1 | 3 - 1| 5 – 2 | 6 – 4 | 7 - 6


Whilst the excellent display of polo was the main attraction, the anticipation was palpable as spectators were ready to win amazing prizes with a total worth of AED 100,00 in cash. Special coins carrying the Al Nasr Cultural and Sports Club logo had everyone rush to the field during halftime and four lucky winners took home AED 25,000 each.


H.E. Humaid Bin Drai, Founder and CEO of Bin Drai Enterprises was called upon the stage to award the teams with Marcos Araya as the Most Valuable Player and Plucera as the Best Playing Pony. The adrenalin-fueled day winded down with a celebratory dinner attended by Polo Players and VIPs.

Participating Teams and Players

Erhaab Polo Team

Haafhd Polo Team

HRH Sheikha Maitha bint Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum

Khalid Bin Drai

HRH Sheikha Alya Al Maktoum

Rashed Bin Drai

Habtoor Al Habtoor

Mohammed Bin Drai

Faris Al Yabhouni

Rashid Al Habtoor

Haider Bangash

Tariq Al Habtoor

Nasser Al Shamsi

Yousef Bin Desmal

Frederico Potobsky

Gonzalo Yanzon


Nashwan Polo Team

Erhaab Polo Team

Alfredo Capella

Facundo Sola

Marcos Araya

Jacinto Crotto

Manuel Plaza

Martin Podesta

Juan Zubiaurre

Juan Ambroggio

The HH Sheikh Saeed Bin Hamdan Al Maktoum Cup 2020 is supported by Al Nasr Cultural and Sport Club, an organization founded with the aim of creating a legacy of sports in UAE history. It is fueled with an ambitious vision to create a football team and the creation of which reflected an important and far sighted vision to found a great club that we know and see now.


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Share on Google+